Skip to main navigation.
Main Office: 1-803-779-4975


An arrow pointing through a shattered brick wall.

1935 South Carolina Rural Electric Authority established in Columbia

1936 Passage of the National Rural Electrification Act.

1938 First S.C. electric cooperative chartered, Aiken County Electric Cooperative Association.

1941 The S.C. Electric Cooperatives, Inc., (forerunner to Central) formed to construct transmission lines.

1942 South Carolina Public Service Authority began generating power.

1948 Central Electric Power Cooperative, Inc., organized with 7 Members.

1949 First REA loan of $7,595,500 approved for Central to construct transmission lines. 9 additional Members join Central.

1952 First energy sales from Central to Member cooperatives totaling 7,094,754 Kilowatt hours.

1954 First 1,000 miles of transmission lines completed.

1964 Energy sales exceed 500,000,000 Kilowatt hours.

1965 Dolphus M. Grainger steam generation plant, financed and constructed by Central, put on line at Conway.

1969 Energy sales exceed 1,000,000,000 kilowatt hours.

1973 First gas turbine unit for peaking purposes put on line at Hilton Head.

1974 Berkeley Electric Cooperative becomes Member of Central.

1974 Energy sales exceed 2,000,000,000 Kilowatt hours.

1975 Central’s headquarters moved to Greystone Boulevard.

1979 Energy sales exceed 3,000,000,000 Kilowatt hours.

1980 Coordination Agreement between Central and Santee Cooper approved.

1980 First 2,000 miles of transmission lines completed.

1981 Installation of Load Management System begins.

1983 Central Begins purchases from Santee Cooper under the Coordination Agreement.

1983 Load Management system begins operation.

1988 Coordination Agreement changed to 12 CP billing and to allow for annual Adjust to Actual.

1988 Energy sales exceed 5,000,000,000 kilowatt hours.

1999 Saluda River Electric Cooperative becomes a Member of Central.

2000 Energy sales exceed 10,000,000,000 kilowatt hours.

2001 First direct sales made to Saluda River.

2008 Central purchases the transmission assets of New Horizon. Five upstate cooperatives become full Members of Central:

  • Blue Ridge Electric Cooperative
  • Broad River Electric Cooperative
  • Laurens Electric Cooperative
  • Little River Electric Cooperative
  • York Electric Cooperative

Saluda River Electric Cooperative ceases to be a member of Central.

2010 Purchase Power Agreement with Duke Energy approved by all parties.

2013 Central begins purchases power from Duke Energy under the Purchase Power Agreement.

Central to Member Wholesale Power Supply contracts extended through 2058.

2016 – Central's Headquarters moved to 20 Cooperative Way.

First community solar projects came on-line at Laurens & York.

2017 –  Central named one of South Carolina's Best Places to Work by the SC Chamber of Commerce.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo